the one where xiomara gets her mission call

4 Mar

This is me:

i fly. nbd.

This is me with my mission call:

letter from the prophet. also nbd.

This is where I’m going to be preaching the gospel for the next 18 months:

South America. Like America ... but South ...

I’ve been called to serve in the Uruguay Montevideo mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. I report to the Argentina missionary training center on April 14th.

OH. MY. GOSH.

I turned in my mission papers December 1. I got my call December 17 … it was sent home to California … while I was still in Utah. I was leaving the 23. THE HORROR. So, after waiting out a storm on the I-80 West and packing away my nice, happy Utah life into my deceivingly NOT spacious car, I drove/SPED 10 hours with the beloved Kimberly Cordova to get home. It took one 5 hour energy drink, a 30 min 75 cent budget Reno pit stop, and a 99% literal running on empty experience to be able to ghetto park my car in front of my house and sprint into my house running around looking for my call to get to that moment …

In my cracked out spaz attack of trying to find where in my house my brother had placed my call, I saw a small envelope, bright yellow, addressed to me from the Church offices. I glared at it in confusion. My first thought at the sight of this tiny, NOT mission call sized envelope? “This is my call? OMG.I’VE BEEN REJECTED.” I squealed with terror. But once I grabbed it, I then I saw that the return address said “church travel services” … and then I knew I was for SURE not going stateside.

My heart was racing. All I wanted to do was tear open the call. I had been waiting for SO long. BUT my dad was at Home Depot, and I had to Skype my brother and sister in law in Texas and I had to call some friends and have them on speaker so the suspense continued. But it was worth it. So unbelievably worth it.

Things I knew about Uruguay when I got my call:

– It’s in South America!

– Their soccer team got 4th place in the World Cup in South Africa!

– … They … Uh, yeah. That’s it.

But a lot of google research and asking the Brazilian/Argentine/Peruvians/Chileans that I know, Uruguay is going to be amazing.

Apparently they like tortellini and meat. Nothing can be wrong with this place.

even their beaches are trying to high five you!

URUGUAY HERE I COME … Um. In like a month … Which reminds me, I need skirts …

5 Responses to “the one where xiomara gets her mission call”

  1. Linnea Nielsen March 5, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    OMH EM GEEEZ! i love your blog title. even if it’s not one of the ones i came up with. ADORABLE.

  2. Kyley Elizabeth March 6, 2011 at 4:40 am #

    LOVE IT! Why does South America have so many hands in the sand?!? I did a report on Chile once – they also have a hand in the desert. PS. You should make a midnight run with me to Target. Oh wait. You can’t. You’re in CA. Story of my life.

    • Linnea Nielsen March 7, 2011 at 1:31 am #

      KYLEY! be my friend on wordpress please.

      • Kyley Elizabeth March 7, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

        I don’t know how to be friends on word press!

  3. Linnea Nielsen March 11, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

    i wish you would post more and make my blog stalking more fun

Leave a Reply

