Feb 27 the week i accidentally made alcohol … i think …

29 Feb

Ok. So it was starting to SMELL like alcohol. I call it “Sin Drink”. I’m basically gonna drop this mission bizz and make millions. Ok, but on the realz, there are a TON of bars here in San Jose de Mayo. Oh, and the whole booze thing. A recent convert gives us grapes all the time, and I left them in water to soak because they have wormies, and I want to drown them and then they come out of the grape and die and stuff. I’m a genius, no big deal. And so I totally forgot about them, and my comp and I were like “what is that smell? Are the neighbo– OMG, WE MADE ALCOHOL” … It was really funny.

So, yep, I survived Montevideo by myself. Let me just tell you the deal.

I walked from my house to the terminal at 4:30am BY MYSELF (I felt super disobedient) and hopped on a bus. To get to the mission home is easy, you just need to stop at a stop called Portones and walk like 5 blocks. So I just didn’t know where the stop was, and asked the guardia man, I was like “Me puede decir cuando lleguemos a Portones? No se adonde queda”  “Que?”  “Portones…” “Señorita, no paramos en Portones… solo Tres Cruces…”

*universe shattering into a million pieces* ….

“¿¿!!QUE??!! Lo siento” … Oh. Just realized I wrote that in Spanish… um, yeah, the bus didn’t stop where I needed. It stopped like MEGA far. So for about 2 seconds I thought I was going to die and then the nice lady next to me was like, “Don’t worry, there are taxis!” … So then I got off at Tres Cruces, which is the biggest bus station in Uruguay, it’s HUGE. It’s like a mall. Seriously. And I had no idea where to go, so I step outside and look through my bag to find the direction of the mission home and I ask the security guard and hes like “Omg, thank heavens. I thought you were taking out a cigarette; you’re too young to smoke,” and I was like “Haaaa, I’m a missionary”. And so then I took a taxi, the taxi man got LOST, (epic fail,) and I spent like 200 pesos on a taxi. MIRACULOUSLY, I had enough. I went to the bank last Monday and had 200 extra pesos, and if I hadn’t had that, I would have had an embarrassing moment with president, asking him for money. That woulda been awkward.

So then I saw all the other people who were training and it was awesome. There are 20 oros. I’m training Hna. Rodriguez from here in Uruguay, Tacuarembó. I love saying Tacuarembó. So fun. But sadly, she’s just here for like 3 changes, and then she goes to her mission, where she was actually called, Argentina Bahia Blanca. She doesn’t have her visa, and so they gave her the option of waiting at home til her visa comes to go to the CCM and mission, or just go, and serve here until it comes. So I’m training her. It’s sad that my oro won’t stay here, but no one else can say that their oro is serving in a completely different mission. She’s timid but really nice, and she asks a lottttt of questions, and I need to develop patience. I need a lot of prayers, guys.
We went out with the Davidsons this week! They bought us ice cream! YAAAAAAAAY!!!! I absolutely love them with all my heart. So we were in an air conditioned car. That was amazing. But yeah. This was a good week. We found a girl named Xiomara! She came to church yesterday by a miracle! A member brought her and her 2 siblings. We´re gonna go try and find their house now… they live in the boonies. I want to baptize this Xiomara girl! Its weird teaching a Xiomara ….
Next p-day we get to go to Canelones!!!! We´re taking a tour with our district of OSE, the water plant place or whatever, and then we´re having an asado at the bishop’s house. I’m superrrrrr excited. It’s no Box Factory, but hey, we can’t always get what we want. I love you all very much. I miss you all, too.

Looooooooooooooooooooooove, Hna. Xiomarita

Leave a Reply

