the week temptation came in the form of karaoke

23 Apr

The ward had an activity (miracleeeeeee, there are never activities,) and our investigators (who are TOTALLY getting baptized this weekend! 2! Yaaaay! more on that later) went, so we went with them. And there was karaoke. So much karaoke. It was a lot of fun WATCHING everyone sing. I wanted to go up and sing really bad, but I couldn’t. My life is so hard. Haha. The activity was Thursday, and then as we were leaving the bishop was like “Oh yeah, um, it’s the missionaries turn to clean the chapel this week” …. thankssssssssss! It wasn’t super messy. That was nice.

So last weekend I fasted to find people prepared to be baptized. Wednesday we had a capacitación with President Davidson about doing the 2nd part of the Rescate… but this one is better than Rescate part 1, because these people we KNOW live there, and most of them are part-member families, so we gt to baptize the rest after we activate the head of the house! Yaaay! That’s how Mayra is. She is 9 years old. We found her Wednesday when we went to visit her mom, who is mega less-active. We went, and she was like “I had a dream that the hermanas were teaching my daughter so she could get baptized.” UM. WOW. I was like “Oh…… well……… we´re here….” It was amazing. And then when she came to the activity, she told me that she talked to her nephew, and he wants to get baptized as well! His name is Ruben, and hes 23, and super quiet, and amazing. He doesn’t know how to read, and so I’m gonna try and help him with that. I feel kinda bad, though, because his family is like “Oh, well, he’s not that smart. He’s not that deep of a person; he’s just dumb”. Like, in front of him. And I’m like “No! He’s so cool! He totally gets what we are teaching”. Like, we were teaching him about the gospel of Christ, and I asked him “What does baptism mean to you?” and he went on a deep, mega spirit bringing explanation about how it’s how we are free and closer to God because we turn our lives to Jesus Christ. His aunt was like, “WHERE DID THAT COME FROM?” He’s so ready. I’m excited.  And we found them because of Rescate Part Deux! Yessssssssss.
Yesterday we ran into the MEANEST old people ever. We were just doing contacts in one of the plazas, and I was like “Hola somos misioneras,” and he asked me where I was from, and he was like “Well you can go back now, because we don’t need to hear your crap, we have enough churches here, thanks” and I was like “Oh yeah, what church do you go to?” and he didn’t go to any, and then he proceeded to yell and say that we have enough teaching about Jesus and told me to leave blahblahblah. And I got MAD. And so I was like, “Well, you are totally invited to church, and also invited to do as Christ did, and treat people with love and respect! OKBYEEEEEEE.” The old man that was next to him was like “Escuchalas, che, dejala hablar” (everyone calls everyone che. i love it) He just laughed when I said that and nodded his head in agreement. He was cool. Haha. Then we ran into some ladies from the church Para De Sufrir…….. heh….. yeah…….. they had just come from the “make me rich” church service. YUP. For real. They said that, and I was like “Um, Jesus never taught that…. but HEY, restoration!!!!” I like that after being in the mission for a year, nothing surprises me anymore. I like running into other church people so I can see more clearly how our church is so true. I want to help them, but hey. I do the best i can.
We had an activity today in Santa Lucia. Played soccer and ultimate frisbee and ate CHORIPAN! So delicious. It was a lot of fun. I love our district. Even though things are still hard with my comp, I’m glad that there are people that keep me sane in the district. I need you guys to pray that Mayra and Ruben get baptized. Mayra is very A.D.D., and she doesn’t really listen or even stay in the charlas, so we need help with knowing what to do. And Ruben is pretty solid, but I want him to FEEL this, you know, not just do it because his aunt is his hero and she’s telling him to. And also, while you’re at it, pray for me. Patience is a virtuuuuuuuuuueeeeeeeeeeeee…. that i need to develop.
Ok! I love you all! It’s almost MAY! Crazy! Which means I’m almost 23. Omg. Ya know, I don’t feel 22. I feel a lot older, and it’s weird.  I feel a lot more mature. That’s nice. I’m recognizing more and more the changes that I’ve gone through. 6 more months! Woot woot!
3 weeks and I get to skype with my family!!!!!!!
Leave a Reply

